We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Nuclear Physics Grants Panel

The Panel's role is to:

  • To assess and make recommendations to the STFC executive for research awards in nuclear physics.
  • Take account, as appropriate, of any strategic advice provided by STFC.
  • Take account, as appropriate, of the recommendations of external reviewers and the conclusion of specialist peer review panels.*
  • Provide clear concise feedback to applicants.
  • Advise the Science Board and Executive as required on all issues relating to research grants, including monitoring the level of funding allocated to grants per round.
  • Liaise with other bodies as necessary.
  • To carry out such other tasks associated with peer review as the Executive might require.

* These may be convened by the executive to advise on consolidated grants, contiguous groups of research requests, or research requests which are judged (on the basis of cost or propriety) to warrant such separate, in-depth assessment.

Organisational Structure


  • Professor David Evans (Chair) - University of Birmingham
  • Dr Carlo Barbieri - University of Surrey
  • Dr Dave Joss - University of Liverpool
  • Professor Dan Watts - University of York
  • Dr Judith McGovern - University of Manchester
  • Dr Keiran Flanagan - University of Manchester
  • Dr Marc Labiche - Daresbury Laboratory
  • Professor Marialuisa Aliotta - University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Ralf Kaiser - University of Glasgow
  • Professor Jens Jorgen Gaardhoje - University of Copenhagen

2020 Nuclear Physic Consolidated Grants Round

Applications are now invited for the 2020 Nuclear Physic Consolidated Grants Round. Please see the applicant guidelines for details on how to apply.

This document provides specific guidance on the consolidated grants round, and should be read in conjunction with the STFC Grants Handbook.

The deadline for applications and for form ‘x’ is 11 February 2020 at 4pm. Form ‘x’ will be distributed by email shortly.

Last updated: 18 October 2019


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000