We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Particle Physics Technology Advisory Panel (PPTAP)

The European Strategy for Particle Physics Update, which was published in June 2020, identified the immediate need for active R&D programmes for future detectors and accelerators. The establishment of R&D roadmaps was entrusted to the European Collaboration for Future Accelerators (ECFA) in the case of detector R&D, and the European Laboratory Directors Group (ELDG) for the critical technologies associated with accelerators.

The purpose of the Particle Physics Technology Advisory Panel (PPTAP) is to provide a link between Executive Board, Council, TAAB, and the community, to produce a coherent UK position on the development of the R&D Roadmaps related to the European Strategy for Particle Physics Update. It is recognised that the UK will benefit from a coherent and strategic approach to future R&D in these fields that plays to the UK’s strengths.

Work on both the ECFA and ELDG roadmaps started in late-2020 and is expected to be completed and report to CERN Council by summer 2021. Each activity will draw on input from a number of working groups made up of experts from Member States; PPTAP in the UK. PPTAP was established and met for the first time in late-2020, and the lifetime of the panel will coincide with that of the European road-mapping process, expected to conclude in summer 2021.PPTAP is therefore expected to complete its activities and its final report to TAAB and Executive Board by Autumn 2021.


Area covered Name Institute
Paula Chadwick Durham University

Deepa Angal-Kalinin

Training/Skills Robert Appleby Cockcroft Institute Manchester
Advanced RF Graeme Burt Cockcroft Institute Daresbury
Muon Chris Rogers ISIS STFC
Magnets Ben Shepherd ASTeC STFC
High Gradient Matthew Wing University College London

Adrian Bevan

Quantum Kai Bongs University of Birmingham
TDAQ Rob Halsall Technology STFC
Gas/Liquid Kimberly Palladino University of Oxford
Photodetector Angela Romano University of Birmingham/CERN
Integration Craig Sawyer Particle Physics, STFC
Solid State Eva Vilella University of Liverpool
Calo Iacopo Vivarelli University of Sussex

Neil Chue Hong

EPCC Centre, Edinburgh
HTC Tim Scanlon University College London

Phil Burrows

John Adams Institute
National Lab Director Jim Clarke ASTeC STFC
Associate Director Charlotte Jamieson Programmes, STFC
National Lab Director Dave Newbold Particle Physics, STFC
National Lab Director Anna Orlowska Technology STFC
Director Peter Ratoff Cockcroft Institute
RECFA & Chair LDG R&D Max Klein University of Liverpool


Meeting Dates

PPTAP will be meeting on a monthly basis in 2021 prior to presenting its outcomes and report to the STFC Technology and Accelerator Advisory, and Executive, Boards ahead of CERN Council in the Autumn.

PPTAP Community Survey

This survey explored the need for R&D towards new technologies, that would in turn support the infrastructure and facilities underlying the science programme. PPTAP sought input on a range of technology options that could represent R&D trajectories toward well-defined scientific objectives in the 2040s and beyond. Key themes relevant to PPTAP were scale and ambition, affordability, sustainability (in all its forms) and international cooperation and leadership.

UK Input to the ECFA Detector R&D Roadmap

The ECFA Roadmap Process grew out of the updated European Strategy process. The goals are that the roadmap should be developed by the community to balance the detector R&D efforts in Europe, taking into account progress with emerging technologies in adjacent fields; and, the roadmap should identify and describe a diversified detector R&D portfolio that has the largest potential to enhance the performance of the particle physics programme in the mid- and long-term. The Roadmap panel is organised in technology categories listed at


A series of symposia has been organised over spring. The symposia are aimed to engage the community in a discussion informed by technology experts, to understand the status of the relevant R&D activities and to help formulate the appropriate emphasis on R&D to meet detector technology needs for the future scientific programme.

A list of the symposia is available at


In view of the symposia, the task forces are encouraging input from the community. All questionnaires are available at


We would like to encourage the broadest reaction from the UK detector community. In particular, inputs to the following task forces are more than welcome:

TF1: Gaseous detectors

TF2: Liquid detectors

TF3: Solid State Detectors

TF5: Quantum Sensors and Emerging Technologies

TF7: Electronics and On-Detector Processing

TF9: Training

Feedback can be sent to Iacopo, the national UK contact for ECFA (i.vivarelli@sussex.ac.uk), or to the ECFA task forces directly.

All task forces will accept inputs also beyond the indicative deadlines listed in the individual documents.


Once completed, the PPTAP report will be available here.

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference (PDF, 44KB).

PPTAP is tasked to:

  • develop a coherent, strategic and holistic approach to planning of particle physics and the associated accelerator R&D activities within the European context
  • consult and interact with the wider community (university groups and NLD departments) to ensure its views are canvassed and there is an appropriate and effective route for communication with STFC
  • work to establish the need for UK particle physics and associated accelerator R&D activities, in the context of the overall PP projects roadmap, as well as the current level of expertise and relevant activity within the UK
  • maintain an overview of the ECFA and ELDG road mapping activities, and participate in road mapping expert panels
  • liaise with other advisory panels as appropriate.


David Brown, Panel Secretary or Nicky Bladen-Hovell, Panel Coordinator can be contacted on PPTAP@stfc.ukri.org

Last updated: 19 March 2021


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000