We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Projects Peer Review Panel

The Projects Peer Review Panel (PPRP) is responsible for the assessment of projects that are considered to have significant scientific priority across all of STFC’s Science Areas – particle physics, nuclear physics, accelerator physics, computing, astronomy and particle astrophysics. 

Members of PPRP are expected to be members of STFC’s community who bring significant experience of working on complex and/or large scientific projects. It is anticipated that members will have experience of serving on assessment panels and/or other committees such as Oversight Committees, Strategy Boards or Council prior to joining PPRP. PPRP members are expected to be diligent, reliable and have a reasonable level of availability to undertake PPRP work. Members should also be confident in contributing at assessment panel meetings and asking questions of proponents and their peers. Members will be required to understand and assess technical information related to proposals both from inside and outside their discipline.

Applications will be assessed on: 

  • Applicants standing within their discipline/community 
  • Applicants experience of working on large and/or complex scientific projects 
  • Applicants technical expertise/experience 
  • Applicants ability to attend 2 or more PPRP meetings a year 
  • Applicants experience of assessing proposals and serving on assessment panels 
  • Achieving an appropriate membership balance across institutions 
  • Applicants experience of working with industry/producing impact from scientific projects  
  • Applicants understanding of national and international contexts.

For all new major projects and project technology development projects which have been approved for PPRP review, the panel will provide advice to the STFC Executives and Science Board on the following:  

  • The quality of the science and technology involved in the proposal and the stated scientific and technical objectives and consider whether the proposal is likely to achieve those objectives
  • The science return for investment and how well the project fits with the Council strategy
  • The likely global and UK scientific impact of the project and at what level it is supported by its relevant scientific community
  • The timeliness of the project and competition to the project
  • The scientific, technical, schedule and financial risks and make recommendations for the management of risk
  • Any milestones against which the project should be monitored and raise any possible future issues for the relevant science committee and Oversight Committee  
  • The standing of the groups and collaborators who are involved in the project including the proponent's track record, the level of UK involvement in the project and the management structure and procedures required to ensure that the stated project goals are achieved
  • How well the project is connected to industry and the science and society plan for disseminating the project to the public
  • The staff and capital costs required for R&D and construction to complete the project to the proposed specification and if appropriate provide different project cost scenarios and their implications to the project.  

In addition, the PPRP will advise the STFC Executive and the committees, where requested, on the merit of:

  • New technology research projects in particle physics, particle astrophysics, nuclear physics and astronomy.
  • Upgrades to approved particle physics, particle astrophysics projects, nuclear physics and astronomy.

Membership from January 2018


  • Professor Julian Osborne – University of Leicester – until 31 December 2019


  • Dr Deepa Angal-Kalinin – STFC Daresbury – until 31 December 2020
  • Professor Nils Andersson – University of Southampton – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Peter Boyle – University of Edinburgh – until 31 December 2020
  • Professor Malcolm Bremer - University of Bristol – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Graeme Burt – Lancaster University – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Garrett Cotter – University of Oxford - until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Monica D’Onofrio – University of Liverpool – until 31 December 2020
  • Professor Lars Eklund (Deputy Chair) – University of Glasgow – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Sinead Farrington – University of Edinburgh – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Tim Gershon – University of Warwick – until December 2020
  • Dr Stephen Gibson – Royal Holloway University of London – until 31 December 2020
  • Dr Laura Harkness-Brennan - University of Liverpool – until December 2020
  • Dr Jon Hays - Queen Mary, University of London – until December 2019
  • Dr Simon Hettrick – University of Southampton – until 31 December 2020
  • Professor Peter Hobson – Brunel University – until 31 December 2020
  • Professor Ilian Iliev – University of Sussex – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor David Jenkins – University of York – until 31 December 2019
  • Dr Emma Johnson – STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory – until 31 December 2020
  • Dr Thomas Kitching – Mullard Space Science Laboratory, University College London – until 31 December 2019
  • Dr Tzany Kokalova Wheldon – University of Birmingham – until December 2020
  • Professor Cristina Lazzeroni – University of Birmingham – until 31 December 2019
  • Professor Steven Longmore – Liverpool John Moores University – until 31 December 2020
  • Dr Giampaolo Pisano – University of Cardiff – until 31 December 2020
  • Professor Dimitra Rigopoulou – University of Oxford – until 31 December 2020
  • Dr Bjoern Seitz – University of Glasgow – until 31 December 2020
  • Dr Christopher Townsley – Cherenkov Telescope Array Observatory – until 31 December 2019
  • Dr Jaap Velthus – University of Bristol – until 31 December 2019
  • Dr Robert Wicks – MSSL – until 31 December 2020
  • Ms Sandi Wilson – UK ATC – until 31 December 2020



For further information on the Projects Peer Review Panel please contact Christopher Carlton 

Last updated: 13 March 2019


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000