We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Professor Bill David

Bill David

Professor Bill David
(Credit: STFC)

Bill David is Professor of Materials Chemistry in the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory, University of Oxford, and STFC Senior Fellow at the ISIS Facility, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxfordshire, UK. He is also a Fellow in Physics at St. Catherine’s College, Oxford.

After his doctorate in Physics at the Clarendon Laboratory in Oxford, Bill moved the short distance to the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory to work with Professor John Goodenough on some of the earliest lithium battery research. He joined what became the ISIS Neutron and Muon Facility a year before first neutrons as Instrument Scientist on the High Resolution Powder Diffractometer, HRPD. After five years as Head of Crystallography at ISIS, Bill was promoted to Individual Merit Scientist in 1992. He has made a number of contributions to the development of neutron and X-ray powder diffraction that include the crystal-structure analysis of C60, and the accelerated determination of molecular crystal structures through his computer program, DASH. Bill’s materials focus in Oxford and at RAL is in energy storage. Following on from his early research on lithium battery cathodes, he has worked on lightweight hydrogen-storage materials. Following his discovery of a new family of ammonia-decomposition catalysts, his main energy research interests are in materials that facilitate the safe and effective utilisation of ammonia as an energy vector. He is also a strong advocate of the opportunities afforded by the development of sustainable large-scale research infrastructures.

Bill is a Fellow of the Royal Society, a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. His awards include the IOP CV Boys Prize (1990), the inaugural British Crystallography Association Prize (2002), the European Society for Applied Physical Chemistry Prize (2006), one of three Bragg Lecture Awards (2013) marking the centenary of the discovery of X-ray diffraction, and the 2015 RSC John B Goodenough Award recognising exceptional and sustained contributions to materials chemistry.

Last updated: 14 December 2016


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000