We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Professor David Charlton

Professor David Charlton

Professor David Charlton
(Credit: University of Birmingham)

Dave Charlton is Poynting Professor of Physics at the University of Birmingham. He is an experimental particle physicist, having been with Birmingham since 1994, and spending extended periods at CERN.

He has worked on a series of high-energy collider experiments, ranging from UA1 at the SPS proton-antiproton collider, via OPAL at the large electron-positron collider, LEP, to ATLAS at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC).

His research includes probing the breaking of electroweak symmetry by measuring the properties and self-interactions of the electroweak gauge bosons W, Z and photon. He has specialised in trigger system construction and operation, and also spent a few years building parts of the silicon detector readout for the ATLAS semi-conductor strip tracker.

He has held a number of roles in the ATLAS Collaboration: he was head (Spokesperson) of the collaboration from 2013-2017. Just prior to that, he had been Deputy Spokesperson for four years including the time of the Higgs boson discovery, and earlier was Physics Coordinator, a position he had also held on OPAL. He was awarded the 2017 Richard Glazebrook prize and medal of the Institute of Physics for leadership in physics.

On the commitee side, he was experimental co-chair of the STFC Particle Physics Grants Panel from 2004 to 2007, coinciding with the introduction of full economic costing. He has served on a range of other STFC panels and committees, as well as being a member of the REF2021 physics sub-panel.

Internationally, he was a member of the Fermilab Long-Baseline Neutrino Committee from 2018 and 2021, chaired the Advisory Panel for the CLICdp project in 2017, and is currently a member of the DESY Programme Review Committee, amongst others.

Last updated: 14 January 2022


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000