We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Professor George Efstathiou

George Efstathiou is Professor of Astrophysics (1909) at the University of Cambridge. He received his B.A. in Physics from Keble College, Oxford University in 1976, and his Ph.D. in Astronomy from Durham University in 1979.

His first postdoctoral appointment was at the Department of Astronomy, University of California, Berkeley. He spent the next eight years at the Institute for Astronomy at Cambridge, beginning as a Postdoctoral Research Assistant and eventually becoming Assistant Director of Research. In 1988, Efstathiou was appointed to the Savilian Chair of Astronomy at Oxford University, where he served as Head of Astrophysics until 1994.

He returned to Cambridge in 1997 and served as Director of the Institute of Astronomy between 2004-2008. He was appointed as the first Director of the Kavli Institute for Cosmology at Cambridge from 2008-2016.

Professor Efstathiou has wide interests in galaxy formation, the large scale sturcture of the Universe and the physics of the early Universe. Most recently he was a member of the European Space Agency Science Team and UK Principal Investigator of the Planck satellite project, which has measured structure in the cosmic microwave background radiation to unprecedented precision.

Professor Efstathiou has received several prizes for his research including the 1990 Maxwell Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics, the 1990 Vainu Bappu Prize of the Astronomical Society of India, the 1994 Astrophysics Prize of the Bodossaki Foundation, the 2005 American Institute of Physics Heineman Prize for Astronomy (shared with his long-term collaborator Simon White), the 2011 Gruber Prize (jointly awarded with Marc Davis, Carlos Frenk and Simon White), the 2013 Nemitsas Prize in Physics and the 2015 Hughes Medal of the Royal Society.


Last updated: 15 February 2021


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000