Please tell us about your experience of this website today

Dr Andrew Taylor

Andrew Taylor is the Executive Director of the National Laboratories and a member of the Executive Board.

Andrew is responsible for the management and development of STFC’s Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Daresbury Laboratory and the UK Astronomy Technology Centre, Edinburgh. He oversees STFC’s world-ranking capabilities in accelerator technology, space science, particle physics, instrumentation and scientific computing and the UK’s national neutron and laser facilities.

Andrew serves on international advisory committees in China, the United States, Europe and Japan. In 1999 he was awarded an OBE for services to neutron science and in 2006, the Glazebrook Medal of the Institute of Physics. Andrew is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and has been awarded honorary degrees by the University of Glasgow and London. He is an Honorary Fellow of Mansfield College, University of Oxford.

Following a degree in Natural Philosophy from Glasgow and a DPhil in neutron scattering at St John's College, Oxford, he joined Rutherford Laboratory in 1975 as part of a small team developing accelerator-based neutron sources as tools to investigate the microscopic structure and dynamics of condensed matter. During his career at Rutherford and Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA, Andrew made major contributions to the development of pulsed neutron source instrumentation and science. He was appointed Director of ISIS in 1992, and under his twenty-year leadership he established ISIS as the premier facility of its type world-wide.

Science and Technology Facilities Council Switchboard: 01793 442000