We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Scientific Computing Department

The Scientific Computing Department provides large scale HPC facilities, computing data services and infrastructure at both Daresbury Laboratory and Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.

The department also includes world leading experts in a number of scientific fields including computational chemistry, computational engineering, materials science, band theory, computational biology, advanced research computing, atomic and molecular physics, numerical analysis, software engineering, data services, petascale storage, scientific information and scientific computing technology.

The new department includes around 160 staff who are based at STFC Daresbury Laboratory and STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.

The following groups are part of the Scientific Computing Department:


Last updated: 15 September 2017


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000