We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Technology at Daresbury

Technology at Daresbury Laboratory (T@DL) provides technology, engineering and support to STFC’s facilities and programmes. The Division is organised into six groups, four in the Engineering Technology Centre (ETC), the Detector Systems Group and the Nuclear Physics Group. The focus is on the support of STFC’s programme and facilities, with ASTeC being the largest customer at present, but T@DL works directly with other STFC departments, National Laboratories, International Facilities and Universities.

T@DL works closely with other divisions in Technology Department to provide engineering support across the STFC programme. The Nuclear Physics Group provides the primary link into the UK Nuclear Physics community, supporting and co-ordinating the STFC programme and projects in this field. In addition to engineering and support services provided in collaboration with other divisions in TD, T@DL retains specialist expertise in accelerator systems, photon detection systems and electrical and control systems.

Key facts

Engineering Technology Centre (ETC)
Engineering Technology Centre The ETC delivers an integrated approach to today's scientific and technological challenges by combining mechanical design and analysis, vacuum technology, cryogenics, CNC machining, advanced metrology, electrical systems integration and intelligent control systems.
Detector Systems Group
Engineering Technology Centre The Detector Systems Group (DSG) provides detector systems and system technologies in support of the STFC programme. The DSG support projects from proof-of-principle, feasibility demonstration to an engineering prototype.
Nuclear Physics Group
Engineering Technology Centre The major role of the Nuclear Physics Group is to support and contribute to the UK's Nuclear Physics research programme supported by the STFC.



  • Ian Lazarus
    Head of Technology at Daresbury
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 433
More contacts
  • Ian Lazarus
    Nuclear Physics
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 433
  • David Bogg
    Detector Systems
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 705
  • Neil Bliss
    Projects and Mechanical Engineering
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 269
  • Phil Atkinson
    Technical, Mechanical and Vacuum
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 371
  • Brian Martlew
    Control Systems and Safety Interlocks
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 431
  • Stephen Griffiths
    Electrical Engineering
    Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 154

How to find us

  • How to get to Daresbury Laboratory
  • T@DL staff and facilities are located at STFC Daresbury Laboratory in two buildings:
    • The Tower Building accommodates Nuclear Physics, Engineering Technology, and Detector Systems staff
    • The Systems Integration Building (ETC Building) accommodates the Precision Machining Centre, Vacuum Laboratory, Clean Rooms, Electrical Engineering, Magnet Test and Large Systems Assembly

Last updated: 19 March 2021


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000