We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Ernest Rutherford Fellowship application limits

The table below list the departments who are eligible to host an Ernest Rutherford Fellowship. You are advised to contact your proposed host department as early as possible and certainly well ahead of the deadline for submission of applications 17 September 2020.

Applicants should not be put under any pressure to accept an offer to be hosted before 20 August 2020.

For potential applicants, departments have supplied a name and email address of a single point of contact and an internal deadline in which they should contact them by.

Research Organisation Department 2020/21 limit Point of contact Contact details Internal deadline
Aberystwyth Institute of Mathematical and Physical Sciences 1 Prof A Evans

dne@aber.ac.uk

 
Armagh Astronomy 1 Dr Marc Sarzi marc.sarzi@armagh.ac.uk 17 August
Bath Physics 1 Stijn Wuyts s.wuyts@bath.ac.uk 14 August
Birkbeck Earth and Planetary Sciences 1 Dr Charlie Underwood c.underwood@bbk.ac.uk  
Birmingham School of Physics and Astronomy 5 Prof Mike Gunn headphys@bham.ac.uk 20 July
Brighton Computing, Engineering and Mathematics 1 Prof Alison Bruce Alison.bruce@brighton.ac.uk 31 July
Bristol Earth 1 Prof Tim Elliott Tim.Elliott@bristol.ac.uk 1 August
Bristol School of Physics 2 Prof N Wilding head-phys@bristol.ac.uk  
British Antarctic Survey Space Weather and Atmosphere 1 Ana Pereira-O'Callaghan funding@bas.ac.uk 7 August
Cambridge DAMTP 4 James Parke

gr-secretary@damtp.cam.ac.uk

14 August
Cambridge Institute of Astronomy 3 Prof Richard McMahon fellowships@ast.cam.ac.uk 31 August
Cambridge Department of Physics 2 Prof M.A. Parker fellowships@phy.cam.ac.uk 7 August
Cardiff School of Physics and Astronomy 2 Dr Cosimo Inserra inserra@cardiff.ac.uk 10 August
Central Lancashire Jeremiah Horrocks Institute 2 Prof Victor Debattista VPDebattista@uclan.ac.uk 31 July
City School of Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering 1 Prof Bogdan Stefanski Bogdan.Stefanski.1@city.ac.uk  
Dundee Department of Mathematics 1 Prof Gunnar Hornig G.Hornig@dundee.ac.uk  
Durham Department of Mathematical Science 2 Dr Simon Ross s.f.ross@durham.ac.uk 7 August
Durham Department of Physics 6 Astronomy and Instrumentation: Prof David Alexander
Particle Physics: Prof Michael Spannowsky
d.m.alexander@durham.ac.uk

michael.spannowsky@durham.ac.uk
31 July

31 July
Edinburgh School of Mathematics 1 Prof H Braden hosmaths@ed.ac.uk  
Edinburgh School of Mathematics 1      
Edinburgh (incl ATC) School of Physics and Astronomy 7 Prof Martin Evans m.evans@ed.ac.uk 17 July
Exeter Mathematics 2 Prof Geoffrey Vallis G.Vallis@exeter.ac.uk  
Exeter Physics and Astronomy 3 Prof Matthew Bate m.r.bate@exeter.ac.uk 31 July
Glasgow School of Geographical & Earth Science 2 Prof Martin Lee martin.lee@glasgow.ac.uk  
Glasgow School of Physics and Astronomy 5 Prof Martin Hendry head-physics-school@glasgow.ac.uk 24 July
Heriot Watt School of Engineering and Phys Sci 1 Prof Steve McLaughlin s.mcLaughlin@hw.ac.uk  
Heriot Watt School of Maths and Comp Sci 1 Prof Richard Szabo r.j.szabo@hw.ac.uk 21 August
Hertfordshire School of Physics, Astronomy & Mathematics 3 Prof Martin Hardcastle m.j.hardcastle@herts.ac.uk 31 July
Hull Centre for Astrophysics 1 Prof Brad Gibson Brad.gibson@hull.ac.uk 10 August
Imperial Department of Earth Science and Engineering 1 Prof Gareth Collins g.collins@imperial.ac.uk 7 August
Imperial Department of Physics 8 Louise Hayward l.hayward@imperial.ac.uk 30 July
Imperial John Adams Institute 3

Imperial: Louise Hayward

Royal Holloway: Prof Véronique Boisvert

Oxford: Jenny Woods

l.hayward@imperial.ac.uk

Veronique.Boisvert@rhul.ac.uk

Fellowships@physics.ox.ac.uk
 
Keele Physics & Astrophysics 2 Prof Coel Hellier c.hellier@keele.ac.uk No deadline
Kent School of Physical Sciences 1 Dr James Urquhart j.s.urquhart@kent.ac.uk 10 August
King’s College Department of Maths 2 Dr Dionysios Anninos j.s.urquhart@kent.ac.uk 20 July
King’s College Department of Physics 3 Prof Nick Mavromatos nikolaos.mavromatos@kcl.ac.uk 9 July
Lancaster Cockcroft Institute 4 Prof Peter Ratoff p.ratoff@cockroft.ac.uk 10 August
Lancaster Physics 3 Prof Manus Hayne m.hayne@lancaster.ac.uk 24 July
Leeds School of Chemistry 1 Prof Dwayne Heard d.e.heard@leeds.ac.uk 24 July
Leeds Department of Applied Maths 2 Prof Steven Tobias s.m.tobias@leeds.ac.uk 24 July
Leeds School of Physics and Astronomy 1 Dr Stuart Lumsden s.l.lumsden@leeds.ac.uk 15 July
Leicester Physics and Astronomy 5 Dr Leigh Fletcher leigh.fletcher@le.ac.uk 5 August
Liverpool Mathematical Science 2 Prof John Gracey gracey@liverpool.ac.uk No internal deadline
Liverpool Department of Physics 4 Prof Carsten Welsch c.p.welsch@liverpool.ac.uk Deadline passed
Liverpool John Moores Astrophysics Research Institute 3 Prof Ian McCarthy i.g.mccarthy@ljmu.ac.uk 7 August
Manchester School of Earth and Environmental Sciences 2 Prof Jamie Gilmour jamie.gilmour@manchester.ac.uk 14 August
Manchester School of Physics and Astronomy 7 Frank McGrory Frank.McGrory@manchester.ac.uk Deadline passed
Natural History Museum Earth Science Department 1 Prof Richard Herrington r.herrington@nhm.ac.uk  
Newcastle Mathematics, Statistics & Physics 2 Dr Danielle Leonard Danielle.Leonard@newcastle.ac.uk 31 July
Northumbria Department of Mathematics, Physics and Electrical Engineering 1 Prof James McLaughlin james.a.mclaughlin@northumbria.ac.uk 27 July
Nottingham School of Physics and Astronomy 2 Alfonso Aragon-Salamanca Alfonso.Aragon@nottingham.ac.uk 31 July
Open Department of Physical Sciences 4 Dr Ian Franchi ian.franchi.open.ac.uk 31 July
Oxford Department of Earth Sciences 1 Gavin Bird Gavin.bird@earth.ox.ac.uk 31 July
Oxford Department of Physics 10 Jenny Woods fellowships@physics.ox.ac.uk 15 July
Plymouth Computing, Electronics & Mathematics 1 Antonio Rago antonio.rago@plymouth.ac.uk No internal deadline
Portsmouth Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation 2 Prof David Wands david.wands@port.ac.uk 31 July
Queen Mary School of Mathematical Sciences 1 Megan Liddle megan.liddle@qmul.ac.uk 17 July
Queen Mary School of Physics and Astronomy 5 Mrs Kati Schwab k.schwab@qmul.ac.uk 27 July
Queens Belfast School of Mathematics and Physics 3 Naoimh Mackel mp.research@qub.ac.uk 13 August
Reading Meteorology 1 Daniel Williamson d.williamson@reading.ac.uk Deadline passed
Royal Holloway Department of Physics 2 Prof Veronique Boisvert Veronique.boisvert@rhul.ac.uk 3 August
Sheffield Automatic Control and Systems Eng 1 Prof V Kadirkamanathan acse-hod@sheffield.ac.uk  
Sheffield School of Mathematics and Statistics 2 Prof Carsten van de Bruck

c.vandebruck@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Sheffield Department of Physics and Astronomy 3 Prof Paul Crowther paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk 31 July
Southampton Mathematical Sciences 2 Professor Kostas Skenderis k.skenderis@soton.ac.uk No internal deadline
Southampton Physics and Astronomy 3 Prof Mark Sullivan hodphys@soton.ac.uk 31 July
St Andrews School of Mathematics and Statistics 1 Prof Alan Hood awh@st-andrews.ac.uk  
St Andrews School of Physics and Astronomy 2 Dr Christiane Helling ch80@st-andrews.ac.uk  
STFC PPD 3 Debbie Loader PAPPDDIRECTOR@stfc.ac.uk  
Strathclyde Department of Physics 1 Prof Gail McConnell g.mcconnell@strath.ac.uk  
Surrey Department of Mathematics 1 Prof Ian Roulstone i.roulstone@surrey.ac.uk  
Surrey Department of Physics 3

Nuclear Physics:
Prof Wilton Catford


Astrophysics:
Dr Alessis Gualandris

w.catford@surrey.ac.uk
 


a.gualandris@surrey.ac.uk
5 August
Sussex Department of Physics and Astronomy 4 Prof Sebastian Jaeger S.Jaeger@sussex.ac.uk To ensure full consideration, candidates should apply by 31 July
Swansea Department of Physics 2 Prof Gert Aarts g.aarts@swansea.ac.uk 10 August
UCL MSSL 3 Philippa Elwell p.elwell@ucl.ac.uk 20 July
UCL Department of Physics and Astronomy 5 Prof Ruben Saakyan r.saakyan@ucl.ac.uk 15 July
Warwick Department of Physics 3 Prof. Boris Gaensicke boris.gaensicke@warwick.ac.uk 10 August
West of Scotland Computing, Engineering & Physical Sciences 1 Prof J Smith john.f.smith@uws.ac.uk  
York Department of Physics 2 Dr Alessandro Pastore alessandro.pastore@york.ac.uk 17 July

Last updated: 17 August 2020

UKRI

Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000