We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Ernest Rutherford Fellowship application limits

The table below list the departments who are eligible to host an Ernest Rutherford Fellowship. You are advised to contact your proposed host department as early as possible and certainly well ahead of the deadline for submission of applications 26 September 2019.

Applicants should not be put under any pressure to accept an offer to be hosted before 22 August 2019.

For potential applicants, departments have supplied a name and email address of a single point of contact and an internal deadline in which they should contact them by.

Research Organisation Department 2019/20 limit Point of contact Contact details Internal deadline
Aberystwyth Institute of Mathematical and Physical Sciences 1      
Armagh Astronomy 1 Marc Sarzi Marc.Sarzi@Armagh.ac.uk 16 August
Bath Physics 1      
Birkbeck Earth and Planetary Sciences 1 Dr Charlie Underwood ubfb050@mail.bbk.ac.uk No deadline
Birmingham School of Physics and Astronomy 5      
Brighton Computing, Engineering and Mathematics 1 Prof Alison Bruce Alison.Bruce@brighton.ac.uk No deadline
Bristol Earth 1 Tim Elliot Tim.Elliott@bristol.ac.uk 5 August
Bristol School of Physics 2 Prof Joel Goldstein joel.goldstein@bristol.ac.uk 5 August
British Antarctic Survey Space Weather and Atmosphere 1 Ana Pereira-O'Callaghan funding@bas.ac.uk 9 August
Cambridge DAMTP 4      
Cambridge Institute of Astronomy 3 Prof Richard McMahon fellowships@ast.cam.ac.uk 11 August
Cambridge Department of Physics 2 Prof M.A Parker fellowships@phy.cam.ac.uk 9 August
Cardiff School of Physics and Astronomy 2      
Central Lancashire Jeremiah Horrocks Institute 2      
Dundee Department of Mathematics 1      
Durham Department of Mathematical Science 2 Prof Simon Ross s.f.ross@durham.ac.uk 9 August
Durham Department of Physics 6 Particle Physics:
Prof Keith Ellis
 

 Astronomy & Instrumentation:
Prof David Alexander
keith.ellis@durham.ac.uk
 
 

  d.m.alexander@durham.ac.uk
TBC
 
 

 4 August
Edinburgh School of Mathematics 1      
Edinburgh (incl ATC) School of Physics and Astronomy 7 Prof Jim Dunlop jsd@roe.ac.uk Deadline passed
Exeter Mathematics 2      
Exeter Physics and Astronomy 3 Prof Isabelle Baraffe I.Baraffe@exeter.ac.uk 6 September
Glasgow School of Geographical & Earth Science 2 Prof Martin Lee Martin.Lee@glasgow.ac.uk 12 August
Glasgow School of Physics and Astronomy 5      
Heriot Watt School of Engineering and Phys Sci 1      
Heriot Watt School of Maths and Comp Sci 1 Prof Richard Szabo r.j.szabo@hw.ac.uk 30 August
Hertfordshire School of Physics, Astronomy & Mathematics 3 Prof Martin Hardcastle m.j.hardcastle@herts.ac.uk 29 July
Hull Centre for Astrophysics 1 Prof Brad Gibson Brad.gibson@hull.ac.uk 19 August
Imperial Department of Earth Science and Engineering 1      
Imperial Department of Physics 8 Louise Hayward l.hayward@imperial.ac.uk 2 August
Imperial John Adams Institute 3      
Keele Physics & Astrophysics 2 Prof Coel Hellier c.hellier@keele.ac.uk 15 August
Kent School of Physical Sciences 1 Prof Nigel Mason n.j.mason@kent.ac.uk 31 August
King’s College Department of Maths 2      
King’s College Department of Physics 2      
Lancaster Cockcroft Institute 4 Prof Peter Ratoff Peter.Ratoff@cockroft.ac.uk 31 July
Lancaster Physics 3      
Leeds School of Chemistry 1 Prof Colin Fishwick c.w.g.fishwick@leeds.ac.uk 20 July
Leeds Department of Applied Maths 2 Prof Steve Tobias S.M.Tobias@leeds.ac.uk 16 August
Leeds School of Physics and Astronomy 1 Stuart Lumsden S.L.Lumsden@leeds.ac.uk 2 August
Leicester Physics and Astronomy 5 Dr Leigh Fletcher leigh.fletcher@liecester.ac.uk 7 August
Liverpool Mathematical Science 2      
Liverpool Department of Physics 4      
Liverpool John Moores Astrophysics Research Institute 3 Prof Nate Bastian n.j.bastian@ljmu.ac.uk 9 August
Manchester School of Earth and Environmental Sciences 2 Jamie Gilmour jamie.gilmour@manchester.ac.uk TBC
Manchester School of Physics and Astronomy 7 Daniel Twiddy Daniel.Twiddy@manchester.ac.uk 19 July
Natural History Museum Earth Science Department 1      
Newcastle Mathematics, Statistics & Physics 2      
Nottingham School of Physics and Astronomy 2 Alfonso Aragon-Salamanca Alfonso.Aragon@nottingham.ac.uk 1 August
Open Department of Physical Sciences 4 Dr Ian Franchi ian.franchi@open.ac.uk 1 August
Oxford Department of Earth Sciences 1 Gavin Bird Gavin.bird@earth.ox.ac.uk 29 July
Oxford Department of Physics 10 Jenny Woods fellowships@physics.ox.ac.uk 19 July
Plymouth Computing, Electronics & Mathematics 1 Dan Godfrey dan.godfrey@plymouth.ac.uk TBC
Portsmouth Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation 2 David Bacon david.bacon@port.ac.uk 31 July
Queen Mary School of Mathematical Sciences 1 Elisa Piccaro elisa.piccaro@qmul.ac.uk No deadline
Queen Mary School of Physics and Astronomy 5 Mrs Kati Schwab k.schwab@qmul.ac.uk 29 July
Queens Belfast School of Mathematics and Physics 3 Dr Chris Watson chris.watson@qub.ac.uk 5 August
Reading Meteorology 1      
Royal Holloway Department of Physics 2      
Sheffield Automatic Control and Systems Eng 1      
Sheffield School of Mathematics and Statistics 2 Prof Tom Bridgeland t.bridgeland@sheffield.ac.uk 12 August
Sheffield Department of Physics and Astronomy 3 Prof Paul Crowther paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk 2 August
Southampton Mathematical Sciences 2      
Southampton Physics and Astronomy 3 Prof Mark Sullivan hodphys@soton.ac.uk 2 August
St Andrews School of Mathematics and Statistics 1      
St Andrews School of Physics and Astronomy 2 Dr Rita Tojeiro rmftr@st-andrews.ac.uk 5 August
STFC PPD 3 Prof Mike Newbold dave.newbold@stfc.ac.uk TBC
Strathclyde Department of Physics 1 Prof Gail McConnell g.mcconnell@strath.ac.uk 31 July
Surrey Department of Mathematics 1      
Surrey Department of Physics 3      
Sussex Department of Physics and Astronomy 4 Prof Sebastian Jaeger S.Jaeger@sussex.ac.uk Full consideration: 20 July.  Deadline 15 August
Swansea Department of Physics 2 Prof Gert Aarts g.aarts@swansea.ac.uk 9 August
UCL MSSL 3      
UCL Department of Physics and Astronomy 5      
Warwick Department of Physics 3      
West of Scotland Computing, Engineering & Physical Sciences 1 Prof John Smith john.f.smith@uws.ac.uk 1 August
York Department of Physics 2      

Last updated: 08 August 2019

UKRI

Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000