Campuses Location

Twin engines of innovation and impact

Aerial view of Harwell Campus Campus
(Credit: STFC)

Our campuses are:

  • Harwell Campus - south of Oxford in the heart of Science Vale UK
  • Sci-Tech Daresbury - in Cheshire, close to the key commercial, industrial and academic centres of the North West

Together, these flag-bearers of innovation are already home to over 300 organisations – from entrepreneurs, start-ups and spinouts to blue-chip multinationals, university research teams and prestigious science bodies. They also support around 5,000 jobs, with plans to more than double this figure as the campuses’ vast potential is realised in the coming years.

Bringing the research base and business world together, and benefiting from the extensive international connections developed by STFC and other on-campus organisations, Harwell Campus and Sci-Tech Daresbury are world-class locations for growth that integrate:

  • Large-scale R&D facilities and other leading-edge research infrastructure
  • Acknowledged centres of excellence in disciplines linked to key sectors of the economy
  • Top-quality laboratory and office space, comprehensive technical and commercial support services, and countless opportunities for effective networking and productive collaboration
  • Award-winning business incubation facilities

Aerial view of Sci-Tech Daresbury campus
(Credit: STFC)

The campuses offer a readily available, easily accessible inventory of capabilities and possibilities that individual organisations simply could not afford to develop or pursue through their own in-house resources – providing fuel to the innovation cycle.

Both campuses have secured Enterprise Zone status, delivering lower business rates, simplified planning procedures and superfast broadband access. Both are characterised by low failure rates and strong financial growth among the enterprises that have built a base there.


Richard Farrow
Campus Development
+44 (0)1925 603887

External links:

Find out more about:

Last updated: 02 December 2016


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000