We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

CCD5-2014: The 5th Cryogenic Cluster Day

The 5th Cryogenic Cluster Day took place at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory on Friday September 19th, the morning after the Scottish Referendum - a day punctuated by the occasional downpour ! Around 120 delegates gathered for a day of talks, trade show, Posters and Lab Visits.

John Weisend, Chairman of the Cryogenic Society of America (celebrating its 50th anniversary this year) and Senior Scientist at the European Spallation Source, gave the audience an excellent insight on both subjects - the CSA and the ESS. The second talk, by Klaus Ertel from the Central Laser Facility at Rutherford Appleton, explained the role cryogenics is now playing in laser applications.

Ed Vaizey, MP, Cryogenic Cluster Day 2014
(Credit: STFC)

The Exhibition was opened by local MP Ed Vaizey [Minister of State with responsibility for digital industries] who has been very supportive of the Cryogenic Cluster - and who presented an award from the Cluster to Tom Bradshaw, Head of Cryogenics at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory to recognise his lifetime contribution to British Cryogenics. Of the twenty exhibitors, most were from England, joined by others from Austria, France, Germany and Scotland.

Six optional lab visits enabled delegates to tour parts of the Laboratory - including the ISIS neutron source, the MICE [Muon Ionisation Cooling Experiment] Hall, the Main Cryogenics Laboratory and the new Research Complex associated with the Diamond Light Source, The visit to RAL Space took the form of an MLI Clinic, and there was a visit to the Laser Facility to complement Klaus Ertel’s earlier talk.

During the Exhibition, Anke Lohmann made an announcement on behalf of the Knowledge Transfer Networks, drawing attention to the need for Cryogenics in development of Quantum Technologies, and inviting the Cryogenic Community to step forward to take advantage of new opportunities in this area, and the availability of substantial funding.

Anke Lohman, Cryogenic Cluster Day 2014
(Credit: STFC)

The Cluster Day Poster Session this year had entries from the Universities of Lancaster and Southampton, from ISIS and from Mullard Space Science Laboratory, Airbus Defence & Space, and Oxford Instruments [this last Poster was not on display on the Day, but is included in the downloads from this website]. This year’s Poster Prize Winner was Jessica Spurrell, from the University of Southampton, with a poster on ‘Quench property of twisted-pair MgB2 superconducting cables in helium gas.’

In the final session of talks, Glynn Dyson was speaker from the ‘Vacuum Cluster’ - which is concentrated around Hastings, similarly to the concentration of Cryogenic activity around Oxford. In a reciprocal arrangement, Nanna Heiberg from CCFE, will be speaking at ‘TEC 66’ - the ‘Vacuum Cluster Day’ on October 27th.

The last two talks of the day concerned new Centres under development in the UK. Karle Dearn from the University of Birmingham spoke on the Birmingham Centre for Cryogenic Energy Storage, and Susie Speller from the University of Oxford spoke on the Centre for Applied Superconductivity, which is at an early stage and may be subject to a future talk.

A good number of BCC Members took part in Cluster Day, including Professor Jones, BCC Chairman, members of the Executive, Exhibitors - some of those attending for the first time have also since advised of their intention to become BCC Cluster Members.




Prize Winner

Quench property of twisted-pair MgB2 superconducting cables in helium gas, J Spurrell, EA Young, I Falorio, J Pelegrin, A Ballarino*, Y Yang University of Southampton,* Technology Department, CERN


Developing liquid air engines for transport and static applications

Dearman engine economic case study: Heat Hybrid versus Electric Buses

Seeing More with Cryogenics - on Earth and in Space, M Hills, I Hepburn, J Bartlett, G Hardy, Mullard Space Science Laboratory

The Lancaster nanoscience access facility of the European Microkelvin Platform, DI Bradley, SN Fisher, RP Haley, Y Pashkin, GR Pickett, JR Prance, M Sarsby, V Tsepelin Department of Physics, Lancaster University

Development of New High Field Superconducting Magnets for Research Applications, Ziad Melhem, Joe Brown, Richard Wotherspoon, Roman Viznichenko, John Burgoyne, Kevin Lonergan, Andrew Twin, David Warren, Oxford Instruments

Last updated: 12 August 2019


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000