We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Daresbury apprentices celebrate success

Apprentices at Daresbury Laboratory came together to celebrate their achievements at the site’s annual apprenticeship awards ceremony. And for the first time ever, some of the awards were given to multiple recipients, reflecting the high standards demonstrated by the apprentice committee. The unprecedented move saw eight winners across five categories.

Here we look back on the winners of the night, and the feedback which they were given.

Apprentice of the year (2019 graduates)

Winners: John Byrne, Louise Smith

Whilst all apprentices in our group make a valuable contribution to STFC, John deserves a special mention. He always demonstrates a positive and enthusiastic attitude and is regularly praised about the standard of his work and efficiency of delivery from technicians, designers and engineers. He has proved himself to be a very able apprentice and has carried this through to his new position as a Technician. He wants to work and learn new things, nothing phases him and will turn his hand to anything. He has developed into an excellent technician with a bright future and a keenness to continue his learning and the decision to allow this apprentice to progress onto a Degree Apprenticeship based on previous results and workplace behavior made it an easy decision for the group. John leads by example which has a positive influence on the attitude of other apprentices.

Louise is an outstanding example of an STFC apprentice. Even though she has completed her apprenticeship, she continues to support existing apprentices and promote the apprenticeship scheme. She completed her apprenticeship within 2 years with a Distinction and her work has been shared with other apprentices as a case of best practice.  Louise began adding value early on in her apprenticeship; she was a reliable member of the team who wasn’t afraid to ask questions, giving everything 100% always being respectful of deadlines. Her success gave her the right experience to secure a promotion and new role as a project manager. On top of her normal role, she has also supported activities that encourage equality and diversity as well as becoming a wellbeing first aider.

Highly commended: William Marshall.

Outreach award

For significant contributions towards public engagement and outreach, whilst acting as an ambassador for the STFC apprenticeship scheme.

Winner: Daniel White

Daniel has continued his support of our public engagement programme. He has supported various events including:

  • Particle physics masterclass
  • IOP teacher conference
  • Big Bang North West
  • Tours of the Engineering Technology Centre

He’s articulate and is skilled in adapting language appropriate to his audience. Young people can easily relate to him.

Highly commended: Louise Smith.

Recognition award

For consistently demonstrating a positive attitude towards and upholding the UKRI/STFC values throughout their work at STFC. In the end, it was decided that three individuals deserved to be crowned joint winners of this award.

Winners: Emily Baker, Jack Hogarth, Joshua Davies

Emily has developed her confidence and stepped outside of her comfort zone to put herself in a position to support high-level management meetings. Her support of the recent Vacuum Symposium conference led to numerous pieces of feedback from internal and external sources crediting her professionalism and contribution. Her commitment to the role has been exemplary and is a highly trusted individual.

Jack works in a technical environment and has had to acquire new technical skills, even training others how to use certain pieces of equipment. He has shown a keen interest in helping other areas of our department and taken on additional tasks to support our customers, including the demonstration of the advantages of production with additive manufacturing which have been used in public engagement activity.  

Josh has constantly demonstrated innovation both technically and in improving the efficiency of the team. He has created script and instructions for speeding up the configuration of the start menu on new windows PCs and ensured that they are deployed consistently to users.  We can rely on Josh to complete the task he has agreed to do and act in a professional manner with all staff and colleagues.

Highly commended: Louise Smith, Jordan Rigby.

Peer support award

Apprentices nominate their peers for this award,  and are asked to recognise the support of another apprentice who they feel has gone ‘above and beyond’ in providing support, advice and guidance.

Winner: Joshua Davies

Here’s what Joshua’s peers had to say about him.


“When I moved to this department, he made me feel welcome and supported within my first few days. In his role, he has supported me where I had technical issues. He has gone beyond his role to be an all-round support for me during a time of significant change and new pressures, he made the transition much easier and I know that I can always rely on him.”

Apprentice impact award

This award is to recognise an apprentice who stands out from their peers and has made noteworthy achievements in their area of expertise. They have created, adapted or implemented an outstanding piece of work in their area.

Winner: Georgia Lomas

Georgia has quickly developed her skills and is now a very active and popular member of our team. Our department had an extremely important launch of its DAFNI project in London, attended by  many VIPs.  At short notice, she supported the event in London. This was not something she had previous experience of but the feedback from the DAFNI management was extremely positive.  

She also excelled at her organisation and support of the Synergistic Reconstruction Symposium.  Working solely with external scientific organisers from different universities, she led the Local Organisation Committee meetings making suggestions and providing guidance to the Scientific Organisers from various institutes.

Highly commended: Andrew Wootten, Jordan Rigby, Louise Smith.

The Daresbury Laboratory awards, and their sister awards at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Harwell, are adjudicated by an apprenticeship committee. This is made up of an apprenticeship coordinator, their supervisors and other team members. The committee submit their nominations for awards and then debate who should be crowned winner.

Follow Daresbury Laboratory on Twitter and Facebook for all the latest from the lab.  

Last updated: 08 January 2020


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000