We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

STFC's Susan Smith recognised for her professional contributions to accelerator science

Congratulations to Professor Susan Smith, Head of STFC’s Daresbury Laboratory, who has been recognised with the 2020 Group Prize for Outstanding Professional Contributions. This annual prize recognises outstanding individuals who have contributed to the field of accelerator science and technology in the UK or Ireland and raised its public profile.

The 2020 reward recognises Susan for her major contributions and innovation in accelerator and light source science and the development of the Synchrotron Radiation Source facility at STFC’s Daresbury Laboratory. Susan is also rewarded for leading the accelerator design at the Diamond facility in RAL and leading the construction of several other accelerator facilities at STFC’s Daresbury Laboratory, including CLARA and EMMA.

Susan has been recognised for her exceptional scientific expertise and managerial abilities and particularly for the work she has done in the last decade as the Director of STFC’s Accelerator Science and Technology Centre as well as Head of Daresbury Laboratory.  

Upon hearing the good news, Susan said: “I am truly honoured to receive this award. Having spent the whole of my working career in accelerator science I am thrilled be recognised in this way by the group. In the 1980s, I could count the number of women in the accelerator field in this country on one finger, I hope being honoured through this award will give confidence and motivation to the many women who are entering the field in the 2020s”.


If you enjoyed this, never miss a story by subscribing to our newsletter FASCINATION:

Subscribe to Fascination

Last updated: 11 August 2020


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000