Please tell us about your experience of this website today

Science Minister announces Non-Executive Board Members of UK Research and Innovation

28 September 2017

Science Minister, Jo Johnson has today (28th September) announced the 12 Non-Executive Members of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) Board.

Over the coming months the Board will work with the UKRI Chair, Chief Executive and the executive team to ensure the successful formation and launch of UKRI, as well as the strategic direction of the organisation. This will include advising the Secretary of State on the allocation of research and innovation budgets, including the Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund.

UKRI Non-Executive Board Members

Sir Peter Bazalgette – founder of a successful independent TV production company and now Executive Chairman of ITV
Professor Julia Black – Interim Director of the London School of Economics, and Pro Director for Research since 2014
Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz – Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge (stepping down later this year), and Chair of Cancer Research UK
Lord (John) Browne of Madingley – the Executive Chairman of L1 Energy, and former Chief Executive of BP plc
Professor Sir Ian Diamond – Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Aberdeen
Fiona Driscoll (UKRI Audit Committee Chair) – currently Chair of the Audit Committee of Nuffield Health
Professor Alice Gast – currently President of Imperial College London
Sir Harpal Kumar – CEO of Cancer Research UK
Max Lu – President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Surrey
Vivienne Parry – Head of Engagement for Genomics England
Mustafa Suleyman – Co-founder and Head of Applied AI at DeepMind
Lord (David) Willetts – Former Minister of State for Universities and Science, attending Cabinet, from 2010-14.

Professor Dame Sally Davies – As Chief Medical Officer and a serving civil servant, Dame Sally will not be formally a member of the board but will join board meetings in a personal capacity.

For more information please see article on website.

Science and Technology Facilities Council Switchboard: 01793 442000