We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Particle Physics Masterclass Programme

Particle Physics Masterclasses are one day events hosted by Particle Physics groups at Universities and Laboratories across the country. They are aimed at students taking particle physics modules at AS or A level, but are open to any student interested in studying particle physics. Some Universities also run days specifically for GCSE students.

The different masterclasses include a selection of the following activities, run by particle physicists: lectures, hands-on workshops, computer sessions, laboratory tours, live video chats with CERN and international masterclasses.

Every masterclass is slightly different, but all provide excellent support for particle physics in the curriculum and deliver a fascinating insight into this exciting field of physics!

Dates for the 2019 calendar year will appear here as they are set.

Many of the Particle Physics Masterclasses are oversubscribed. Teachers who would like their students to participate should contact the appropriate person as soon as possible.

Venue Date(s) Contact Details
2019
Birmingham University Fri 8 March 2019
Bristol University Thu 25 April 2019
Cambridge University Mon 25 and Tue 26 March 2019
Daresbury Laboratory Tue 26 - Thu 28 February 2019
Durham University Thu 28 March 2019
Glasgow University Tue 11 June 2019
Imperial College London Fri 29 March 2019
Lancaster University TBC (September 2019)
Manchester University Mon 25 March 2019
Oxford University Mon 25 and Fri 29 March 2019
Plymouth University Mon 25 March 2019
Queen Mary University of London None planned in 2019
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory Tue 5 - Fri 8 March 2019
Royal Holloway University of London Tue 2 and Wed 3 April 2019
Sheffield University Wed 27th March
Southampton University Wed 3 April 2019
Sussex University Wed 3 April 2019
Swansea University Late March/Early April and June 2019 (exact dated TBC)
University College London Mon 11 February and Tue 2 April 2019
Warwick University Mon 1 and Tue 2 April 2019

Particle Physics for you

Last updated: 14 May 2019

UKRI

Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000