We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

How to get involved with SKA Science

The Science Working Group is a scientific advisory group that provides input to the Office of the Square Kilometre Array Organization (SKAO) on issues relating to the design, construction, and future operations of the SKA that are likely to affect the Observatory’s scientific capability, productivity and user relations.

The Science Working Groups are NOT future guaranteed time teams and are NOT closed shops. They’re there to facilitate the involvement of the community and to help prioritise the science drivers of the facility. If you want to get actively involved in SKA science preparations, the way to do this is to participate in a science working group. To do this, drop a line to one or more of the following contacts:

  • Astrobiology / Cradle of Life: Johnstone (Canada) Jimenez-Serra (UK/Spain)
  • Cosmic Magnetism: Heald (Australia), Mao (Germany)
  • Cosmology: Battye (UK), Wolz (Australia)
  • Epoch of Reionisation / Cosmic Dawn: Bernardi (Italy & South Africa), Mellema (Sweden)
  • Extragalactic Spectral Line: Beswick (UK), Combes (France)
  • Extragalactic Continuum (Galaxies/AGN, Galaxy Clusters): Cassano (Italy), Sargent (UK) and Hurley-Walker (Australia)
  • HI Galaxy Science: Blyth (South Africa) and Verdes-Montenegro (Spain)
  • Our Galaxy: Rosolowsky (Canada)
  • Pulsars / Strong field tests of gravity: Stairs (Canada), van Straten (New Zealand)
  • Solar, Heliospheric & Ionospheric Physics: Kontar (UK), Oberoi (India)
  • Transients: Rupen (Canada), Hessels (Netherlands)

There are currently two tiers of membership:

  1. Core members: Members who are actively contributing to ongoing analysis and whose membership is subject to approval by the working group chairs.
  2. Associate members: Members who are part of the working group, but who may not have the time or resources to make significant contributions on a regular basis.

Last updated: 06 July 2018


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000