We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Detector Systems Group

The Detector Systems Group (DSG) provides world class instrumentation and detector systems in support of the STFC programme. Sensors and instrumentation technologies are crucial to every field of science and are increasingly required by industry in application areas such as security, healthcare, the environment and clean energy.

The DSG operates a one stop shop for the design and manufacture of high quality bespoke instrumentation and detector systems, as well as supporting projects from proof-of-principle, feasibility demonstration to a fully engineered prototype. The group has all the key capabilities to follow each step of a project process from conception, through to installation and operational support, to successfully enable science or commercial activities. Key successes include detector systems for synchrotron radiation science principally at DLS and the ESRF.

The DSG has also provided and is currently engaged in detector systems for applied Nuclear Physics, the CLF, & ISIS. The DSG has many industrial partners and customers both on and off the Sci-Tech Daresbury Campus, and collaborates with many academic partners.

All projects undertaken by the group are managed within a quality management system that meets ISO 9001:2008 and is certified by the British Standards Institution (BSI).

Key areas of expertise within the group include Detector/Sensor Technologies; Software design/ programming; CAD Capabilities and Electronic Manufacturing/Rework.



David Bogg
Detector Systems Group Leader
Tel: +44 (0)1925 603 705

How to find us

How to get to Daresbury Laboratory.

The Detector Systems Group staff and facilities are located at STFC Daresbury Laboratory in the Tower Building.

DSG Site Locations at STFC Daresbury Laboratory.

Last updated: 25 May 2017


Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000