Please tell us about your experience of this website today

UK Committee on CERN (UKCC)

First meeting of CERN Council
(Credit: CERN)

The UK Committee on CERN (UKCC) meets shortly before each round of CERN Council meetings, which take place in March, June September and December each year. The purpose of these meetings is to discuss the items likely to appear on the agendas of CERN Council and Finance Committee with all relevant parties, to get direction and where possible to agree the UK line.

Terms of Reference

To consider questions arising from the UK participation in CERN and to brief the following UK delegates to CERN:

  • the UK delegation to the Finance Committee
  • the UK delegation to the Committee of Council and
  • the UK delegation to the Council


Membership of UKCC includes representatives from the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS), STFC and members of the particle physics community.

The current membership is:

  • Claire Durkin (BEIS) Chair
  • Dr Adam Baker (BEIS)
  • Professor Grahame Blair (STFC)
  • Dr Brian Bowsher (STFC)
  • Professor Jon Butterworth (UCL)
  • Mrs Charlotte Jamieson (STFC)
  • Mr Tony Medland (STFC)
  • Professor Jocelyn Monroe (RHUL)
  • Professor Jordan Nash (Imperial College)
  • Professor Tara Shears (Liverpool)
  • Mr David Snell (BEIS)
  • Ms Sarah Verth (STFC)
  • Professor Dave Wark (University of Oxford)



Science and Technology Facilities Council
Switchboard: +44 (0)1793 442000